Learning from Authoritative Security Experiment Results

LASER 2012: Learning from Authoritative Security Experiment Results

Program Agenda

Day 1: July 18, 2012

08:00 - Breakfast (Provided) and Registration

08:30 - Welcome, Introductions, and Opening Remarks

Session 1

09:00 - Keynote Speaker: "Ignorance: How it Drives Science"

Speaker: Stuart Firestein (Columbia University)

10:15 - BREAK

10:15 - Paper: "Free vs. Transcribed Text for Keystroke-Dynamics Evaluations"

Authors: Kevin Killourhy (CMU) and Roy Maxion (CMU)

11:30 - Paper: "Experience with Heterogeneous Clock-Skew based Device Fingerprinting"

Authors: Swati Sharma (Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi), Alefiya Hussain (University of Southern California), Huzur Saran (Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi)

12:30 - Lunch (Provided)

Session II

13:30 - Researcher Panel: "Realizing Scientific Methods for Cyber Security"

Moderator: Thomas Carroll (PNNL)
Panelists: David Manz (PNNL), Thomas Edgar (PNNL), and Frank L. Greitzler (PNNL)

15:00 - BREAK

15:15 - Paper: "A Journey Towards Rigorous Cybersecurity Experiments: On the Application of Criminology Theory"

Authors: Michel Cukier (University of Maryland), David Maimon (University of Maryland), Robin Berthier (University of Illinois)

16:15 - Discussion: Challenges, Solutions, and Mitigations to Failures

Leader: Matt Bishop (UC Davis)

17:00 - Closing Comments and Adjourn

18:30 - Group Dinner

Day 2: July 19

08:00 - Breakfast (Provided) and Registration

08:45 - Recap from Wednesday

Session 3

09:00 - Keynote Speaker

Speaker: Roy Maxion (CMU)

10:15 - BREAK

10:30 - Paper: "P2P Hierarchical Botnet Traffic Detection Using Hidden Markov Models"

Authors: Chen Lu (Clemson University), Richard Brooks (Clemson University)

11:30 - Paper: "Self-Identified Experts Lost on the Interwebs: The importance of treating all results as learning experiences"

Authors: Timothy Kelley (Indiana University), Suzanne Lien (Santa Clara University), L. Jean Camp (Indiana University), Douglas Stebila (Queensland University)

12:30 - Lunch

Session 4

13:30 - Government Panel: "The Role of Risk and Failure in Research"

Moderator: Navid Jam (Sandia National Lab)
Panelists: Steve King (DoD), Brad Martin (ODNI), Carl Landwehr (George Washington University), and Cynthia Dion-Schwartz (NSF)

15:00 - BREAK

15:15 - Paper: "Studying Access Control Usability in the Lab: Lessons Learned from Three Studies"

Authors: Kami Vaniea (CMU), Luio Bauer (CMU), Lorrie Faith Cranor (CMU), and Michael K. Reiter (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)

16:15 - Discussion: Experiment, Hypotheses, and Methods You'd Like to See: Content for Next Year's Workshop

Discussion Lead: Greg Shannon (CMU-CERT)

17:00 - Adjourn


The 2012 LASER Workshop proceedings were published in the ACM Digital Library.

Further Information

If you have questions or comments about LASER, or if you would like additional information about the workshop, contact us at: info@laser-workshop.org.

Join the LASER mailing list to stay informed of LASER news.